Archive for February 23rd, 2008|Daily archive page

Review: Orgran Gluten Free Gravy Mix

Being a true Southern girl, the thing I’ve missed most out in this whole GF adventure was gravy.  Williams Brown Gravy for my family, baby.  Not now, of course.

When I saw this gravy mix at the health food store, I was happy.  I was so, so happy!!

We had it today with meatloaf, rice and mashed potatoes.  I know, I know, don’t lecture me on the lack of veggies.  I spent the day helping a friend destroy his bathroom and I was forced to throw dinner together quickly.

Anyway, I used the gravy mix tonight.  It came out brown and looked curiously gravy-looking.  It tasted and smelled like plastic.  Kinda like a sneaker, melted on my stovetop.  OMG IT WAS BAD.

I am tossing the rest of this package, which is something I can barely stand to do with GF foods.  You might recall my review for Bob’s “Wonderful” Bread.  This goes in the same reject bag.  ‘cept I’ve not yet had a good experience with Orgran, so I am unsure as to what kind of relationship I will have with this brand in to the future.

The package has a huge list of things it is free of: 98% fat free, gluten free, wheat free, dairy free, egg free, yeast free, GMO free, soy free, nut free, meat free (vegan)… but it forgets to mention how it’s also flavor-free.