Review: Orgran Gluten Free Gravy Mix

Being a true Southern girl, the thing I’ve missed most out in this whole GF adventure was gravy.  Williams Brown Gravy for my family, baby.  Not now, of course.

When I saw this gravy mix at the health food store, I was happy.  I was so, so happy!!

We had it today with meatloaf, rice and mashed potatoes.  I know, I know, don’t lecture me on the lack of veggies.  I spent the day helping a friend destroy his bathroom and I was forced to throw dinner together quickly.

Anyway, I used the gravy mix tonight.  It came out brown and looked curiously gravy-looking.  It tasted and smelled like plastic.  Kinda like a sneaker, melted on my stovetop.  OMG IT WAS BAD.

I am tossing the rest of this package, which is something I can barely stand to do with GF foods.  You might recall my review for Bob’s “Wonderful” Bread.  This goes in the same reject bag.  ‘cept I’ve not yet had a good experience with Orgran, so I am unsure as to what kind of relationship I will have with this brand in to the future.

The package has a huge list of things it is free of: 98% fat free, gluten free, wheat free, dairy free, egg free, yeast free, GMO free, soy free, nut free, meat free (vegan)… but it forgets to mention how it’s also flavor-free.

4 comments so far

  1. Don Tombs on

    Sorry to hear your experience with Orgran, we have their products in the UK, some of them are super. Meanwhile take a look at our recipes. We haven’t got a homemade gravy in our reipes, as our UK Supermarkets carry a number of different makes of gravy, my wife uses one from Tesco’s which she finds quite good, so you just have to try till you find the right one. We take our gravy with us to restaurants, who readily make it up for us. Hope that helps a little.

  2. crystalstair on

    Glad to hear that there’s some GF Gravy hope out there, Don! 🙂 Here in the Ozarks Plateau, we have fairly limited access to the really good stuff, so we make due the best we can. 😉 It’s always hard to know what products are going to be tasty and what products aren’t worth wasting the $5/lb on. 🙂

  3. Ladonne on

    hey, I agree with the flavorless-ness of the orgran gravy mix… but we buy gluten free chicken and beef buoillion cubes (the brand is “Herb-Ox”… I throw a couple of those in a pot of that gravy while I’m cooking it, and it comes out tasting pretty good… just an idea.

  4. crystalstair on

    I had no idea that Lipton’s Onion Soup Mix was GF until recently. Now, I use a pouch of that, some beef buoillion, pepper and cornstarch. 🙂 Makes a quick and cheap gravy. 🙂


Leave a Reply

