Review: Mary’s Gone Crackers — Onion Flavor

Oh, YUM!  Do I miss my Triskets?  Heck yeah I do!  Do these make that owie go away?  Not really.  But they are good, though it’s kind of an acquired taste.  I bought this box something like two months ago and have been working my way around to liking them.

First, they were weird (they are just seeds and rice baked together until they form a cracker-like substance).  I tried them with tuna salad, and they improved.  I ate them with hummus, things were ok… but not ideal.  Today, I was eating some leftover lentil soup and wanted a cracker to go with.  All I had in the pantry that were open were Mary’s.

Mary, these are the perfect crackers for lentil soup on a grey and icky day.  They are crispy and don’t go soggy (not in 30-40 seconds, at least).  The texture holds on good to the lentils and the crunch and dull thud of the flavors are perfect opposite of a salty lentil soup.

EAT THEM!!  EAT THEM WITH THIS: 🙂

Good Eats Lentil Soup, slightly tweaked:

2 tblsp olive oil
1/2 c chopped onion
1/2 c chopped carrots
1/2 c chopped celery
2 tsp salt
1/2 lb lentils, picked and rinsed
1/2 c tomatoes, diced (I like the kind in the can, but don’t drain them)
1 quart water
4 tsp chicken buillion (see note at bottom)
1/4 tsp ground coriander
1/4 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp course ground black pepper
1/8 tsp smoked paprika

Place the olive oil in the bottom of a 5 qt dutch oven and set over medium heat.  Once hot, add the onion, carrot, celery and salt and sweat until the onions are translucent, 6-7 minutes.  Add the lentils, tomatoes, water, buillion, coriander, cumin, pepper and paprika and stir to combine.  Increase the heat to high and bring just to a boil (bubbles are just coming to the surface).  Reduce heat to low, cover and cook at a low simmer until the lentils are tender, about 35 minutes.

Alton uses a stick blender at this point to cream things up a bit.  I dumped about 3/4 in to a food processor and went ZOOM!  I also added about a cup of plain yogurt to enhance the creamy consistancy. 

If you don’t have plain yogurt, strawberry will not do!  Sub half and half, sour cream or your favorite vegan preparation of those sorts of high fat things.  I like yogurt, it doesn’t bother me to be killing acedophilus, they had it coming for being in the way of my yogurt. 😉

*Note on buillion:  DON’T let me catch you using any of that flavorless buillion they sell in the health food store.  Check out the mexican section at your mega mart and pick up something like Knorr’s.  It has a lot of flavor.  I was an ovo/lacto vegetarian for many, many years until well-meaning doctors convinced me it was what was making me so sick… the smell and the greasiness of broth still makes me gag… the buillion doesn’t really do that to me, so I use it instead.  If you watch Good Eats, you will know that the great cooking guru Alton Brown would condemn me for it.  Use at your own risk. 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

