Review: Pamela’s Products — Gluten Free Chocolate Brownie Mix

Here at Ye Olde Gluten Free Blogge, I’ve been sick for weeks with my stomach.  In an incredibly self-destructive move, I’ve decided that the only cure (besides a quick and painless death) is brownies.  Digging through my cabinets in an intense search for cocoa powder yielded this find.  Mmmm… brownies…..

I’ve chosen to go with the Butter option listed on the back of the mix bag, since the only thing better than brownies is brownies made with butter… we’re going to have these smothered in cherry pie filling and with a scoop of ice cream on top (sorta Black Forest style)… so yum I might forget being sick. 🙂

Just killing a few minutes as I wait for them to finish in the oven.  They went together like a breeze and looked a lot like Bob’s Red Mill brownie mix (which we love!) when they went in to the pan.  But, like all GF mixes, the dough is somewhere between sticky and dry, with no elasticity and they aren’t cooking up in the time the package says they should.

These were totally worth the extra 10 minutes.  Man, oh man, soft, fluffy and chocolately… no grit here.  Thanks, Pamela.  I think I’m in love.  (And here I thought it couldn’t get better than Bob’s).  Of course, the cherry pie filling and vanilla bean ice cream probably don’t hurt… 😉

2 comments so far

  1. Lori on

    I’ve never actually tried Pamela’s brownie mix, but do make brownies from her pancake and baking mix. Yummy! My favorite way to eat them is with vanilla bean ice cream and hot fudge sauce!!! Talk about decadant!!

  2. crystalstair on

    Man, I do love a good vanilla bean. We did the cherries, but the fudge would have been nice on top of the whole mess. Who says that being GF means giving up flavor, eh? We’ll just be big as barns eating like this and we’ll love it. 😉


Leave a Reply

