Review: Orgran Tomato & Basil Corn Pasta

I have to admit that I was really hesitant to even purchase this product.  Orgran has not been kind to me in the past, as long time readers know.  My previous trial of corn pasta left a bad taste in my mouth, it was very crumbly and not very pasta-like.  It went immediately from dried to WAAAAYYYY beyond al dente.

The Orgran pasta, though, did really well and I was shocked.  I almost peed myself. 😉  After a mere 8 minutes in the pot, the noodles were firm without being crumbly, yet they still had some give.  They were about as al dente as GF Pastas have been, in my experience.  They also did a cool trick that Tinkyada Fusillis doesn’t generally do well: They held on to a heavy sauce.

So, WOO!  These are now my favorite noodle for boiling.  Not sure how they do overnight in the fridge, etc., but at least we’re started. 🙂  They also didn’t leave that rice-y aftertaste that Tinkyada does.

I am pleased. 😉

2 comments so far

  1. talkingfox on

    Try Tinkyada Brown Rice pastas…uindistinguishable from gluteny kind! The stay al dente and even reheat without turning to goo. Lundberg Farms makes a good one too.

  2. crystalstair on

    Actually, I believe I have reviewed those, way back toward the beginning. They’re ok, I certainly wouldn’t kick them out of bed or anything, but they have this sort of odd aftertaste that I can do without. I use them with heavy sauces that have a lot of their own flavor so I don’t have to taste them. Texture is ok.

    These Organ noodles, on the other hand, are only rivaled in both taste and texture by the ones by BioNaturae. They are mild in flavor, which is good because I don’t want to taste them. 🙂

    I’ve been told the texture of the Tinkyada noodles improve if you use the energy conservation method on the back of the noodle. I admit I didn’t try that. 🙂 I have, however, tried the T. spinach spaghetti and it is pretty freaking good. In a casserole it holds up and is virtually indistinguishable from the real deal.

    I haven’t seen the noodles by Lindberg Farms, but I bet they’re pretty good. Most of their other products are high quality. I’m not real pleased with the rice cakes, but then again, I’m not real pleased with rice cakes in general.

    ~Kristi


Leave a Reply

