Recipe: Super Awesome Gluten Free Peach Buckle

Gluten Free Peach Buckle. Ta Da!

Gluten Free Peach Buckle. Ta Da!

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted, I’m terribly sorry for that.  School started on August 11th, so I’ve been, like, busy, man.  My goal during school will be to post at least once on the weekend, so at least you’ll have something beautiful and edible from me on a regular basis.  There will be tons of posts, no doubt, as Christmas nears. 🙂

I set out to make a cobbler in the way that I understood a cobbler to be.  That is to say, I was trying to figure out what was different between what I knew of as cobbler: a single crust over a fruit filling baked in a square dish and a pie: two crusts with fruit filling wedged inside.  I did not get a “cobbler,” I got a cobbler.  Specifically, it’s a buckle, as it turns out, if the web is to be trusted: clicky.  Despite it being nothing like I had pictured it turned out to be really good.  This buckle reminds me of really nice, slightly crispy-edged cinnamon rolls with fruit.  How can you not like that?!? 🙂

So here’s how you do it, if you think you might want to. 🙂

Ingredients:
4 cups fresh peaches, diced
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 1/2 cups sugar, divided
1/2 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup rice flour
1/4 cup tapioca
1/4 cup cornstarch
2 tsp. xanthan gum
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
pinch nutmeg
3/4 cup milk

1.  Preheat oven to 375 F.
2.  In a large bowl, combine peaches, 3/4 cup sugar and cinnamon.  Set aside.

Peaches combined with sugar and cinnamon. It should get syrupy as the sugar leaches liquid from the fruit.

Peaches combined with sugar and cinnamon. It should get syrupy as the sugar leaches liquid from the fruit.

3.  Pour butter in the bottom of your 8×8 baking dish.
4.  Toss flours, xanthan gum, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and 3/4 cup sugar into the work bowl of a heavy duty stand mixer.  Turn mixer to lowest setting and add milk 1/4 cup at a time.  Once all flour has been wetted, kick it up to high, just to be sure that everything’s mixed good.  Turn mixer off and spoon batter out onto butter in baking dish.  Batter will be very sticky!!!

)

Batter over butter. It's going to be lumpy, don't panic!! 🙂

5.  Pour peach mixture over batter and butter.

Peaches over dough. Stick this mess in the oven, uncovered!

Peaches over dough. Stick this mess in the oven, uncovered!

6.  Bake at 375 degrees for 45 minutes.
7.  Cool 10-15 minutes before devouring like a hungry beast. A side of ice cream or Cool Whip might not be a bad idea, either.

1 comment so far

  1. arlette on

    incredible,have mixed up different fruits,usually,like part peaches and frozen blueberries,also add walnuts.
    My kids are addicted,I don’t have a mixer and turns out just fine without one,just use a little man ,or should I say woman power.
    I’m guessing this has to be incrediblly fattening ,cuz its taste is sinful.


Leave a Reply

