Recipe: Gluten Free Tollhouse Cookies

And, yes, they taste every bit as good as they look.

So, I’ve been struggling for a while to find a cookie that reminds me of the Tollhouse chocolate chip cookie that my mom used to make for me as a kid.  Tonight, I think I’ve hit on the proper ratios.  Eat your heart out, Alton Brown (that’s almost like taking the Lord’s name in vain, I didn’t really mean it).

I based this recipe off of the original Nestle Tollhouse cookie recipe.  I might still need minor tweaking, but it is what it is and we were enjoying it tonight. 🙂  This will make about 15 cookies.

Ingredients:
1/2 c. rice flour
1/4 c. tapioca starch
1/4 c. sorghum flour plus
2 tblsp. sorghum flour
1 tsp. xanthan gum
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 stick of butter, softened
3/8 c. granulated sugar
3/8 c. packed brown sugar
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 egg
1/2 c. chocolate chips
1/2 c. pecans

Directions:

1.  Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F.

2.  In the workbowl of your mixer, combine butter and sugars and vanilla and mix on low until combined (about 2 minutes).  Add egg and combine.

3.  In another bowl, measure out your flours, baking soda, xanthan gum and salt.  With mixer on low, slowly integrate the dry goods into the wet.

4.  When all the dry goods are integrated, add the chips and nuts and mix just long enough to combine.

5.  Spoon out by the tablespoon onto a baking sheet and bake for 12 minutes.  Let rest for about 10 minutes on the sheet for the middles to set.

2 comments so far

  1. Rio's Rider on

    Yum! Those look sooooo good.

    I’m pretty new to this gluten-free thing. I’ll have to go out and find some sorghum flour – I haven’t used a recipe with it yet.

    I appreciate your blog!

  2. crystalstair on

    Thanks!!!!!! It took some looking for me to find sorghum flour the first time, but Bob’s Red Mill makes it, so it should be availible at a health store nearby. 🙂 It really lends a nice soft sort of body to your baking, it’s great for cookies. 🙂


Leave a Reply

