Recipe: Gluten-Free Thumbprint Cookies

Blueberry and Strawberry Thumbprint Cookies

Blueberry and Strawberry Thumbprint Cookies

Well, this is the official kick-off of the Christmas baking season.  I know it’s like… November 18th… but I’m having to remake the wheel, so I thought it would be good to do some testing before the big day.  Today’s project is thumbprint cookies… my absolute favorite thing in the world (until something better comes along)…

Ingredients:
1 cup butter, softened
3 oz. cream cheese, softened
1 cup sugar
1 egg yolk
1 tblsp. vanilla extract
1/2 tblsp. xanthan gum
1 cup almond meal
1/2 cup rice flour
3/4 cup potato starch
1/4 cup coconut flour
Assorted Jelly and Jam, to taste

Directions:
1.  Cream butter, cream cheese and sugar together until light and fluffy.  Add egg and vanilla.  Mix well.  Add gum, flours and starches, mix well.  If you were inclined to dye these, now would be the time.

2.  Put your concoction into the fridge for about an hour.  DO NOT FREEZE!  It will make your life difficult and your cookies deformed.

I stuffed my dough into a zip top bag and then smashed it flat to decrease chill time.

I stuffed my dough into a zip top bag and smashed flat to decrease chill time.

3.  Pull off pieces of dough and form into 1 inch balls.  Work it like a meatball and space out on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Form a depression in the middle with your fingers or some sort of kitchen implement like a spoon.  I use my fingers, they’re easier to clean.

Cookie balls!Cookie balls!

Cookie depression...Cookie depression…

4.  Fill said depression with jelly or jam of your choice, just enough that you make a jam puddle.  These won’t rise, but they will spread a little, so try to keep it all inside the pool.

Fill them like thisFill them like this

All filled!All filled!

5.  Insert filled cookies into a 350 F oven and bake for 18-20 minutes or until the bottom just starts to brown.  Let rest on cookie sheet 5-10 minutes or until form is set, then move to a cooling rack to finish.

Cool cookies...Cool cookies…

That’s it, and they look like you spent all day working on them… 😉

2 comments so far

  1. Jeanine on

    Alright, this is something I must try now! 🙂 Being my first xmas gluten free, I’m having a hard time finding recipes. Thanks!

  2. Mary Sue on

    I’ve gone 5 years without Christmas cookies, so this year I’ve been on a mission to find recipes so that I could enjoy them again. These Thumbprint Cookies are WONDERFUL! My husband liked them so much, I have to make more!! He’s been great about changing his diet to accommodate mine these last 5 years, so when I find something that he likes as much as I do, it’s a real winner for us both! Thanks! This one now becomes a Christmas Tradition!!


Leave a Reply

